Home | Documentation | Atomic Chat | Github

What is your impressions from Atomic game engine?

I’m new here so would like to ask a bunch of general questions. How would you compare it to Unity ? How mature is it, reliable, how easy to use ? How compatible it is with Blender ? How successful it is for Android ?

The Atomic Game Engine is still new. It is recommended that you use Spriter. I am also new to the Atomic Game Engine. I do have to say that the documentation isn’t good, also there are no real tutorials for it or training. So you would have to read the wiki and the document for C#, Javascript and the other scripting language that is currently available in the engine.

I am trying to teach myself Atomic so that I can start doing tutorials and improve the wiki for beginners. As far as I am aware Blender isn’t support. But I could be wrong.

The idea basically not bad, the Urho3d which is the engine behind the Atomic, seems relative good and not too big engine, and Atomic make the using of this a little bit easier. But it is under development, and many edges a little bit rough at this moment. The documentation is poor, the designer is not as sophisticated as Unity or for example the Godot. But the engine seems better then godot - az least to me was a little disappointment when I tried to run my first app on this engine, moving a sprite from the left side of the screen to right side, and it lagged on my PC - with 8GB RAM, 4 Core processor, NVidia 3D accelerated video card… I also tried Atomic, and my test apps runs good both on PC and on my android phone, without lagging.

Hello there gentlemen :slight_smile:

Here’s my honest input:

Depends on your requirements. In many aspects they are similar, they’re both fully featured game engines with somewhat high-level scripting and heavily cross-platform. Here are the main differences in my opinion:

Atomic Pros: